Ranagri & Tony Christie

Four London musicians; one traditional Irish player, two classically trained, and one blues singer and guitarist, all with a passion for folk music.

A meeting in a pub in Richmond and the story of 'Ranagri the band' begins. Donal Rogers (vocals and guitar), Eliza Marshall (flutes/ethnic whistles), Jean Kelly (harp) and Tad Sargent (bodhran and bouzouki) are all very well established within the music industry. They have recorded and performed with many artists including Stevie Wonder, Radiohead, Peter Gabriel, Paloma Faith, Cara Dillon, Luke Daniels, Hans Zimmer, Ennio Morricone, James Horner, the list goes on. However, between them all lies one common thread – the desire to have their own band and play their own music.


- Folk and world music,
poetry and songwriting.

Tony Christie - Is This the Way to Amarillo? No! This time he’s wending his way to Dublin, Limerick, Tullamore and Carrickfergus.

44 years after the release of his million-selling hit “Amarillo”, Tony Christie rounds off his long career with a nostalgic trip to his family’s Irish roots – and has produced an Irish folk album of the very highest musical and audio quality. For this project he was able to acquire the services of the band “Ranagri”. 12 of the most beautiful Irish folk classics including for instance „Wild Mountain Thyme“ and „Carrickfergus“, were recorded by Christie and the band in the grammy-nominated Stockfisch Studio in Northeim.


Tony Christie

- "delivering the best music of his career." (The Guardian)

"The Great Irish Songbook"

This album is not an idiosyncratic whim dreamed up over a few “jars” at the local pub, but brings to light an aspect of Tony Christie the artist (real name: Anthony Fitzgerald) which many won’t have expected. The songs have profited immensely from the contemporary arrangements, making the “golden oldies” shine with a new brilliance. Various successful albums tipped the vote away from naming the production „Simply in Love with Irish Music“ or alternatively „Made in Northeim“. Quite deservedly, this album has been called „The Great Irish Songbook” – the current album of the „Great Irish Singer“ Tony Christie.

With this SACD Tony Christie traces his family roots, which are very definitely in Ireland (not Amarillo). Like many of his generation, his great-grandfather went over to England looking for work. The legacy he left behind was a button accordion on the living-room cupboard and the songs of Ireland in the hearts of his family.

This is really Tony Christie’s masterful musical homage to his heritage and his ancestors. For his fans and all other interested parties this album is a very gratifying and uplifting journey to the mysteries of the Irish-Celtic music culture – modern and in excellent sound quality.

YouTube-Video of Tony Christie and Ranagri performing:
"The Star of The County Down".

Super-Audio-CD Hybrid: SACD Stereo + CD-Layer
SFR 357.4087.2  •  total time 47:02

This amazing recording with Tony Christie and Ranagri is also available as audiophile 180g-Vinyl-LP Edition.

SFR 357.8087.1  •  total time 47:02  •  LP


Performing on this album "The Great Irish Songbook":

Tony Christie  -  vocal  /  Dónal Rogers  -  guitar, tenor-banjo, shaker, drum, monochord, tambourine, vocal  /  Jean Kelly  -  harp, electric harp  /  Eliza Marshall  -  flute, bass flute, whistle, low whistle, bansuri, harmonium, vocal  /  Tad Sargent  -  bodhrán, bouzouki, vocal  /  Manfred Leuchter  -  accordion  /  Jens Komnick  -  pipes  /  Lucile Chaubard  -  violoncello  /  Justin Stefan Ciuch  -  viola  /  Lutz Möller  -  harpsichord, keyboard  /  Mary MacMaster  -  backing vocal  /  Eilidh Shaw  -  backing vocal  /  Mairearad Green  -  backing vocal, accordion  /  Urs Fuchs  -  bass  /  Hans-Jörg Maucksch  -  bass


"Fort of the Hare"

October's gold in endless supply - late roses basking in the sun's mild rays. Knarled tree branches laden with ripened fruit. And that clear, fathomless blue. If this were to be captured in music, then what could it sound like? Just perhaps, not so unlike "Fort of the Hare", Ranagri's debut album on Stockfisch.

Ranagri sound like a precious, unspoiled spot of beauty – the Irish village of Ranagri that gave the band its name. The four Londoners marry musical influences ranging from classical, folk and blues. If their story did not exist, it would have to be invented. A get-together in the pub – a band's story comes into being.

Guitar and flutes, harp and bodhran, bouzouki – and each time these melodious voices oscillating between melancholy and pure joie de vivre. One has to listen to the chorus of their voices – it sounds just as they look when dancing: in video, in concert, and, ah yes please, definitely the pub. Two men, two women of a special calibre. Folk and world music, poetry and songwriting: vibrant, pristine, catchy, mellow, with a touch of anticipation. For October - and every month for evermore.

During the recording of "The Bogeyman" we let the cameras roll. You can see these studio impressions on the Stockfisch-Channel on YouTube.

Super-Audio-CD Hybrid: SACD Stereo + CD-Layer
SFR 357.4085.2  •  total time 48:10


Performing on this album "Fort of the Hare":

Donal Rogers  -  vocals, guitar, bass drum  / Eliza Marshall  -  flute, bass flute, shakuhachi, bansuri, whistle, harmonium  / Jean Kelly  -  harps, kantele, bowed psaltery  / Tad Sargent  -  bodhran, bouzouki  / Hans-Jörg Maucksch  -  fretless bass

Ranagri & Tony Christie

Vier Musiker aus London: einer spielt traditionell irisch, zwei sind klassisch ausgebildet und einer ist Blues-Sänger und Gitarrist - allen gemeinsam ist die Leidenschaft für Folk-Musik.

Bei einem Treffen in einem "pub" in Richmond beschließen die Vier, die Band "Ranagri" zu gründen. Donal Rogers (Vocal, Gitarre), Eliza Marshall (Querflöten, exotische Flöten), Jean Kelly (Harfe) und Tad Sargent (Bodhran, Bouzouki) sind keine Neuen im Musikgeschäft. Sie hatten bereits Aufnahmen oder Auftritte mit Stevie Wonder, Radiohead, Peter Gabriel, Paloma Faith, Cara Dillon, Luke Daniels, Hans Zimmer, Ennio Morricone, James Horner, The Chieftains - und die Liste wird fortgesetzt. Aber eins führte sie in der Band "Ranagri" zusammen: der Wunsch, die "eigene" Musik zu spielen.

Ranagri

- Folk and world music,
poetry and songwriting.

Tony Christie - Is This the Way to Amarillo? Nein! Diesmal ist er unterwegs nach Dublin, Limerick, Tullamore oder Carrickfergus.

44 Jahre nach der Veröffentlichung des Millionsellers „Amarillo“ rundet Tony Christie seine Karriere mit einem Ausflug zu den irischen Wurzeln seiner Familie ab und produziert ein Irish Folk-Album auf höchstem konzertanten Niveau. Dazu konnte er im Studio die Musiker der Band „Ranagri“ gewinnen, 12 Irish Folk-Klassiker wie „Wild Mountain Thyme“ und „Carrickfergus“ wurden in Günter Paulers Grammy-nominiertem Studio in Northeim aufgenommen.

Stockfisch-Shop

Tony Christie

- "delivering the best music of his career." (The Guardian)

"The Great Irish Songbook"

Dieses Album ist keine „Schnapsidee“, sondern zeigt Tony Christie (bürgerlich Anthony Fitzgerald) von einer ungeahnten Seite. Auch den Songs hat die zeitgemäße Bearbeitung gut getan und sie zu glänzenden „Oldtimern“ veredelt. Christie schließt damit an erfolgreiche Alben an und hätte Obertitel wie „Simply in Love with Irish Music“ oder einfach „Made in Northeim“ wählen können. „The Great Irish Songbook“ ist das aktuelle Album des „Great Irish Singers“ Tony Christie.

Auf dieser Stockfisch-Produktion widmet sich Tony Christie seinen familiären Wurzeln – und die liegen nicht in Amarillo, sondern in Irland. Seinen Urgroßvater verschlug es auf der Suche nach Arbeit nach England. Davon geblieben sind dessen Knopfakkordeon auf dem Wohnzimmerschrank und die traditionellen Lieder Irlands im Herzen.

Es ist in der Tat eine meisterliche, musikalische Verbeugung des großen Tony Christie vor seiner Herkunft und der Tradition seiner Vorfahren. Für seine Fans und jeden anderen Interessierten ist diese CD eine sehr gelungene Reise zu den Mysterien der irisch, keltischen Musik - sehr modern und von ausgezeichneter Klangqualität.


Sehen Sie hier ein Video mit Tony Christie und Ranagri:
"The Star of The County Down".


Super-Audio-CD Hybrid: SACD Stereo + CD-Layer
SFR 357.4087.2  •  total time 47:02

Stockfisch-Records veröffentlicht diese besondere Produktion auch als audiophile 180g-Vinyl-LP, überspielt auf der hauseigenen NEUMANN VMS-82 Direct-Metal-Mastering (DMM) Anlage.


SFR 357.8087.1  •  total time 47:02  •  LP

MUSIKER

Auf der Produktion "The Great Irish Songbook" wirken mit:

Tony Christie  -  Vocal  /  Dónal Rogers  -  Guitar, Banjo, Shaker, Drum, Monochord, Tambourine, Vocal  /  Jean Kelly  -  Harp, Electric Harp  /  Eliza Marshall  -  Flute, Bass Flute, Whistle, Low Whistle, Bansuri, Harmonium, Vocal  /  Tad Sargent  -  Bodhrán, Bouzouki, Vocal  /  Manfred Leuchter  -  Accordion  /  Jens Komnick  -  Pipes  /  Lucile Chaubard  -  Violoncello  /  Justin Stefan Ciuch  -  Viola  /  Lutz Möller  -  Harpsichord, Keyboard  /  Mary MacMaster  -  Backing Vocal  /  Eilidh Shaw  -  Backing Vocal  /  Mairearad Green  -  Backing Vocal, Accordion  /  Urs Fuchs  -  Bass  /  Hans-Jörg Maucksch  -  Bass

           


"Fort of the Hare"

Für ewig Oktobersonne! Milde Strahlen, die letzte Rosen wärmen. Schwere Erntelast an knorrigen Zweigen. Endloses Blau, weiche Dämmerung, Wein. Wie könnte Musik klingen, die so etwas einfängt? Vielleicht so wie "Fort of the Hare", das Debütalbum von Ranagri auf Stockfisch.

Ranagri klingen wie der kostbare Fleck unverbrauchter Schönheit – das irische Dorf Ranagri, das den vier Musikern den Namen gab. Die vier Londoner vermählten ihre musikalischen Heimatgefilde zwischen klassischer Musik, Folk und Blues. Man müsste die Geschichte erfinden, wäre sie nicht wahr. Ein Treffen im Pub – die Geschichte der Band beginnt.

Gitarre und Flöten, Harfe und Bodhran, Bouzouki – und immer wieder diese Stimmen zwischen Melancholie und purer Lebensfreude. Man muss hören, wie sie im Chor einstimmen – es klingt so, wie man sie tanzen sieht: im Video, im Konzert, ach: gern im Pub. Zwei Herren, zwei Damen von besonderem Holz. Das ist Folk und Weltmusik und Songwriting: mild, knorrig , weich, süffig. Für Oktober und für jeden Monat – ewig.


Bei den Aufnahmen zu "The Bogeyman" ließen wir im Studio die Kameras laufen. Sie finden diesen Film auf dem Stockfisch-Channel bei YouTube.

Nominiert für die "Bestenliste der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik" 1.2015:

Super-Audio-CD Hybrid: SACD Stereo + CD-Layer
SFR 357.4085.2  •  total time 48:10

MUSIKER

Auf der Produktion "Fort of the Hare" wirken mit:

Dónal Rogers  -  vocals, guitar, bass drum  / Eliza Marshall  -  flute, bass flute, shakuhachi, bansuri, whistle, harmonium  / Jean Kelly  -  harps, kantele, bowed psaltery  / Tad Sargent  -  bodhran, bouzouki  / Hans-Jörg Maucksch  -  fretless bass