Stockfisch-Records

Analog Pearls

Stockfisch-Records started a new series called "Analog Pearls".

These old analog recordings were chosen because of the fantastic sound. For the new series Günter Pauler is looking in archives and is searching for grantors of a license. Before releasing as "Analog Pearls" the tracks have been carefully remastered at Stockfisch-Records.

"The Good Old Analog Times"

- the famous Telefunken M15A mastertape recorder, still running at Stockfisch-Studios.

"Andreas Rohde - Resonance" Analog Pearls Vol.2

ANDREAS ROHDE visited our Northeim studio in 1983. It was impossible not to notice his admiration for LEO KOTTKE. The tuning and the selection of strings on Rhode’s 12-string GIBSON B-25 and the GUILD F 212C sound quite like those of his idol. Of course, the lyrics and the timbre of his voice remain distinctly his own.

We have documented the state of our previous analog studio technology in numerous photographs in the booklet. For the second volume of “Analog Pearls”, we played the two-track master tape on the same TELEFUNKEN M15A that Andreas Rohde’s recordings from 1983 were mixed on. Then, our MEITNER 1-bit DSD-Converter managed the leap into the digital age. Thus you can hear a native 1-bit DSD Layer on the SACD. Of course this SACD contains the special HYBRID-LAYER as well, so you can also listen to "Analog Pearls Vol.2" on a regular CD player, as you can with every Stockfisch-SACD!

We lost track of Andreas Rohde long ago. He supposedly lives in Australia. Maybe one day he might even hear this “pearl” – as in a dreamtime legend of a timeless, boundless world.


Super-Audio-CD Hybrid: SACD Stereo + CD-Layer
SFR 357.4802.2  •  total time 39:14

MUSIKER

performing on "Analog Pearls Vol.2":

Andreas Rohde - 12-string guitars, vocals / Manfred Unger - saxophone, clarinet

           


"Waylon Jennings" Analog Pearls Vol.1

1964 - A large recording room in the “AUDIO RECORDERS” studio in Phoenix, Arizona. The sound engineer FLOYD RAMSEY sets up a selection of ribbon microphones (RCA 44 / RCA KU-3a) for a recording session with WAYLON JENNINGS. The producer is HERB ALPERT.

Waylon Jennings stands in front of his band and a choir. Within a few hours they create a 4-track recording typical for this era. From todays perspective the sound equipment is very rudimentary, but the result is extremely convincing and clean tube sound. The quality of these recordings is exemplary.

 




Super-Audio-CD Hybrid: SACD Stereo + CD-Layer
SFR 357.4801.2  •  total time 31:15

musicians

performing on "Analog Pearls Vol.1":

Waylon Jennings  -  vocal & guitar  / Gerald W. Gropp  -  guitar  / Paul E. Foster  -  bass  / Richard D. Albright  -  drums  / and many others …

Analog Pearls

Stockfisch-Records startete eine neue Serie, die den Namen "Analog Pearls" trägt.

Für diese Reihe sucht Günter Pauler aus Archiven und bei Lizenzgebern alte analoge Aufnahmen, die besonders gut klingen und auch musikalisch überzeugen. Wenn man den Stand der damaligen Studiotechnik mit der heutigen vergleicht, ist die Qualität mancher Aufnahmen aus dem "analogen Zeitalter" verblüffend. Um als "Analog Pearls" veröffentlicht werden zu können, vollzieht Stockfisch-Records noch ein sorgfältiges Remastering.

"The Good Old Analog Times"

- die Telefunken M15A Masterband-Maschine, die im Stockfisch-Studio immer noch zum Einsatz kommt.

"Andreas Rohde - Resonance" Analog Pearls Vol.2

ANDREAS ROHDE besuchte im Jahr 1983 unser Studio in Northeim. Unschwer ist seine Bewunderung für LEO KOTTKE zu spüren. Rohdes 12-saitige GIBSON B-25 und die GUILD F 212C klingen aufgrund der Stimmung und die Art der Saiten wie bei seinem Vorbild. Eigenständig dagegen sind Andreas Rohdes Texte und natürlich das Timbre seiner Stimme.

Im Booklet dokumentieren wir den Stand unserer damaligen analogen Studiotechnik auf zahlreichen Fotos. Für "Analog Pearls Vol.2" gaben wir das Zwei-Spur Mastertape auf der gleichen TELEFUNKEN M15A wieder, auf der die Andreas Rohde-Produktion 1983 gemischt worden war. Unser MEITNER 1-bit DSD-Wandler verhalf der Musik zum Sprung in die digitale Ära. Auf der SACD ist also ein nativer 1-bit DSD Layer zu hören. Natürlich bekam diese SACD - wie jede Stockfisch-SACD - auch den sogenannten HYBRID-LAYER, damit "Analog Pearls Vol.2" auch auf jedem CD-Player abspielbar ist.

Die Spur von ANDREAS ROHDE haben wir vor langer Zeit verloren. Man sagt, er lebe in Australien. Vielleicht hört er irgendwann einmal diese Perle - wie in einer Traumzeit-Legende einer raum- und zeitlosen Welt.


Super-Audio-CD Hybrid: SACD Stereo + CD-Layer
SFR 357.4802.2  •  total time 39:14

MUSIKER

Auf der Produktion "Analog Pearls Vol.2" wirken mit:

Andreas Rohde - 12-string guitars, vocals / Manfred Unger - saxophone, clarinet

           


"Waylon Jennings" Analog Pearls Vol.1

1964 - Ein großer Aufnahmeraum im Studio “AUDIO RECORDERS” in Phoenix, Arizona. Engineer FLOYD RAMSEY positioniert eine Auswahl von Bändchenmikrofonen (RCA 44 /RCA KU-3a) für eine Aufnahmesession mit WAYLON JENNINGS. Produzent ist HERB ALPERT.

Waylon Jennings steht vor seiner Band und einem Chor. In wenigen Stunden entsteht eine 4-Spur Aufnahme, typisch für die damalige Zeit. Die Tontechnik ist im Vergleich zu heutigen Zeiten unglaublich reduziert, das Ergebnis beeindruckt durch einen sauberen, satten Röhrensound. Die Qualität dieser Aufnahmen ist exemplarisch.

 




Super-Audio-CD Hybrid: SACD Stereo + CD-Layer
SFR 357.4801.2  •  total time 31:15

MUSIKER

Auf der Produktion "Analog Pearls Vol.1" wirken u.a. mit:

Waylon Jennings  -  vocal & guitar  / Gerald W. Gropp  -  guitar  / Paul E. Foster  -  bass  / Richard D. Albright  -  drums  / and many others …